Home > Ronald Roy > Words and Music

Words and Music

A snippet from the past

Sent from my iPad Air

Words and Music

October 3, 2018Leave a comment

Sent from my iPad AirWELL, RICKY (MONTES), I WOULD DEFINE “SONG” as a marriage between music as the dominant spouse, and prose and/or poetry as the recessive one. For instance, Happy Birthday, the most popular song in the universe, is a harmonious blend of words and music that create a merry atmosphere. The compatibility between the “spouses” is notable.

No, Ricky, I cannot read musical notes; I never studied music. I taped my compositions on my piano. My unschooled hands did the melody and harmony on the keyboard, while I sang along the lyrics myself. I would then submit the cassette recording to a studio for recording of the work by a professional singer of my choice, like Anthony Castelo, Leah Navarro and Pia Benedicto de Leon.

Not all my works were songs. Some of them were instrumentals — composed in the genre of mainstream jazz and contemporary pop rhythms like boss nova. My favorite is “Young and Beautiful”, which I composed for the Miss Young International Beauty Pageant.

My passionate flirtation with songwriting spanned from 1982 to 1984….short-lived, yes, but ohh so exciting as it made me an envoy of peace and love in a world gone astray. After all, isn’t MUSIC THE LANGUAGE OF ANGELS?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment