Home > Ronald Roy > pool shark

pool shark

October 26, 2019 Leave a comment Go to comments

Sent from my iPad AirEFREN “BATA” REYES, THE GREATEST POOL PLAYER OF ALL TIME, makes Filipinos proud to be Filipinos! Winner of over 70 international titles, his net income is an estimated $2,000,000 derived solely from competition…so, who says that pool is a disreputable profession?

Dubbed the “magician” by the world’s top cue artists, Bata’s dazzling wizardry and humility have drawn such global respect and honor for the country that one wonders why he has not been conferred the title of “national artist”.

It is with vicarious interest that I have all these years followed the hustling career of this sorcerer…for, like him, the pool bug bit me when I was a grade school kid fascinated with accuracy, cue ball control and geometric command of the table. The 15-ball format called “rotation” was then in vogue.

The bug interfered with my Ateneo studies just a bit and, at 16, I was already among the country’s best, gaming not for money but for the thrill of winning the heart of pool, the hussy that I loved with a passion.

In time, my father learned of my “nefarious” escapades, and that ended my short and happy career as a “disreputable” pool shark.

Pool anyone?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment