Home > Ronald Roy > All in God’s time, all by His grace!

All in God’s time, all by His grace!

All in God’s time, all by His grace!
Ronald Roy  -April 9, 2008

       I heard a little Chinese boy outside my private room insistently demanding his mother to explain why “Pyesident Ayyoyo’s nose (was) not gyowing yong, even if she never tells the tyoot.”  “That’s not exactly so, Edward,” came the mother’s reply, “Gyoya’s . . . Gloria’s . . . nose is still small, but something worse is happening to her.  Because she always lies, her legs are getting shorter and shorter.” As I was being wheeled out a few seconds later, I saw the little boy’s right hand clutching to his chest a stuffed Pinocchio and his mother’s’ two fingers with the other.

       I then told the hospital stewards to stop my bed on wheels, and the curly-topped boy asked if I was sick.  “Yes I am, Edward. But I will promise to get well because I have to show President Gloria Arroyo how to grow back her legs.”  Smiling, he waved as I moved down the zigzagging corridors towards the operating room.  Over an hour later, I opened my eyes with a grateful prayer to the Lord.  Man, did it feel great to be back in the world of the living! I could have keeled over kaput at any moment over the past year or so; so it must be by some divine plan that I now rejoin the dogged oust-the-bitch movement.

       My five-day confinement in the Cardinal Santos Medical Center culminated with a pacemaker implant below my left clavicle.  The device is a battery-operated inch-and-a-half- diameter disc that is attached to my heart by a wire.  The implant ensures that my heart functions for the next fifteen years within the normal rate of neither slower than fifty beats per minute (bpm) nor faster than eighty bpm.  Can you believe it was only at the time of surgery that the monitor revealed that I had been swinging back and forth within a range from as low as 50 bpm and as high as 220 bpm, and that therefore I could have been felled anytime by cardiac arrest at either end of that range? 

       Prior to that operation, I had authorized Adult Diagnostic International Cardiologist Erwin D. Dizon to perform an angiogram (an intrusive procedure that shoved a steel wire through an artery extending from my groin to the aorta) to measure the volume of plaque my 72-year-old cardiac arteries had collected.  People can start storing plaque from early childhood, and will eventually be needing bypass surgery in their middle or late years.  The findings? Virtually zero plaque! 

       Hmm, some nine months ago, I commenced Dr. Robin Navarro’s daily choline-rich diet of eggs, fresh butter, bulalo, steaks, full-cream milk, etcetera, and it must have been a lot of choline that melted away the plaque.  But that’s another story, an old one, which I had in fact written about in this space.  When my pretty nurses bade me goodbye, I noticed my heart wasn’t pounding like it would have a week earlier – hahaha! My heart’s tame behavior happily told me I had a second lease on life to finish what I started against the despot. Indeed, nothing happens without a reason!  

*                                   *                                   *

       #8059 soundly believes that our gargantuan problems at home do not justify any interest that Filipinos may be taking in the outcome of the American elections this September.  But I’d like to assure him it would be naïve for us to consider that the fall of our tyrant may depend on who the next US president is among Clinton, Obama, and McCain.  In foreign policy, the American Republicans and Democrats have invariably crossed party lines to decide on the highest interests of their country, and in their current elections we should not expect a change of their usual strategic predilections.

       But then, who knows, the warming coziness between China and the Philippines, courtesy of the evil bitch’s exceedingly corrupt regime, obviously not being a cause for comfort in America’s traditional concern for comparative advantage in this Asian part of the world, may just spring a surprise.  In any event, it would be best for Filipinos to assume that the revolution started by Andres Bonifacio over a hundred years ago can succeed ONLY at the blood-drenched altar of patriotism.  And I, along with many other “jugulars,” join Prof. Alejandro Lichauco who believes that: Filipinos are ready to hold sway at that altar.  All in God’s time, all by His grace.

*                                   *                                   *

       Ironically, among the three co-equal and co-ordinate branches of government, it is the judicial branch (through the Supreme Court acting as the so-called last bulwark of democracy) – charged with the constitutional duty of preserving that equation – is well on its way to doing just the damnable opposite. 

       In just a few days, it is expected to pronounce with finality that executive privilege can be invoked at will by any person refusing to answer questions coming from an investigating senate committee convened to gather facts in aid of legislation, with two chilling effects: 1) that crimes of even the most heinous kind can be forever concealed by the most whimsical invocation of executive privilege, and 2) that the inherent check-and-balance, overseeing and investigative character of the senate has been so savagely (and capriciously?) assassinated that the chamber may just as well consider itself judicially pronounced dead. 

       The upper chamber’s motion for consideration, cum motion for inhibition by three known closely Gloria-associated Justices, was seasonally filed last Tuesday with the high tribunal.  Frankly, I consider it to be a pro forma effort to resist a tsunami, even if getting just two of nine Justices to change their minds should do the trick.  You ask a child one plus one, he’ll answer two.  It’s not as if all the nine (dishonorable?) Justices were confronted with such intricate issues that executive privilege may raise.  Those issues, such as even of national security, are merely contrived to give the nine Justices the convenient leeway to please their patroness in Malacanang.

       Their problem at hand is one plus one, and they know the answer is two – which all the more makes them so palpably immoral and undemocratic, for reasons known only to each of them.  Well, I think that the only way for them to change their minds on the majority vote is for them to be made to realize that there’s a great deal more than the reason why they voted to uphold the privileges’ invocation (money, utang ng loob, etcetera.), which is their professional reputation and name in the community, as well as the social standing of their spouses and children who, I’m sure, will not relish being treated like pariahs in their campuses. 

       Isn’t one’s good name the most cherished possession of any self-respecting magistrate?  So why don’t we start telling these nine Justices, personally or by mail, what we think will happen to them and their families if they don’t relent?  There is still hope, #5426.

       #0884 insists I’m so biased against GMA I can never get myself to laud any of her administration’s economic analyses and policies.  Well, I admit I have a passionate dislike for the lying, thieving and cheating bitch, but that doesn’t mean I see all her administration’s caveats and solutions as askew. In fact, I agree with her top economic adviser, Albay Gov. Joey Salceda, who says “that wrong policy coupled with climate change, rapid population growth and increasing incomes of developing countries might make the country vulnerable to food crises in the long term, and that rice is a global commodity and its price is largely dictated by global markets and mutated to some extent by domestic state policies.”

       I also agree with his month-ago flippant remark “that the president (was) the luckiest bitch around.”  To all these, however, I’d like to add that whatever miracles she can credit herself with before the end of her term, they will not suffice to exculpate her from the fullest range of an appropriate penal and restitutive comeuppance. In plain language, she’ll be tried under the blessings of the rule of law, be executed or jailed for life, and be made to return all that she stole or caused to be stolen from the public coffers.  All in God’s time, all by His grace.

 

 

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

