Home > Ronald Roy > Let honor be theirs who seek it not

Let honor be theirs who seek it not

November 8, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

Let honor be theirs who seek it not
Ronald Roy  -November 8, 2007

       I still cannot get over it. A little past four yesterday morning, I heard over DZBB the horrifying flash report regarding Dulce Saguisag’s death in a vehicular accident. Gone is she who twice joined my dancing group during Cory’s time at the Delirium Disco! Rene, himself an avid dancer, lies in critical condition in the ICU of the Makati Medical Center. Come back, Rene, we need you to resume your legal work in our country’s fight for freedom and justice.

       Lintang Bedol appears to have disappeared permanently. Well, that’s no surprise to anyone since the small woman and her gang have always been good at disappearances. Former Commission on Elections Chairman Benjamin Abalos, Sr. is dead wrong if he thinks he is off the hook on the matter of the disappearance of the Maguindanao Republic’s election registrar, because all anomalies ascribed to the latter happened under the former’s watch. Neither can he pass the buck to the current poll body led by Acting Chairman Resurreccion Borra. Abalos must explain to the nation why in his time as Chairman he chose to charge Bedol with the benign administrative offense of indirect contempt—the penalty for which is imprisonment of six months—instead of ordering his immediate arrest for the far more serious offense of election sabotage, the penalty for which is death or reclusion perpetua. Mr. Abalos must also explain his exact role in all Bedol-related machinations that allowed Migs Zubiri a senatorial “triumph” at the expense of opposition senatorial candidate Koko Pimentel. I have written twice that it was in a psychic dream where I saw in vivid color (note: if my dream is not in color, it’s not extra-sensory) Koko Pimentel taking his oath in a formal barong.  All my life almost all my psychic experiences have proved accurate and Koko’s electoral win was just one of them. Abalos may no longer be impeached because, having resigned the chairmanship, he has ceased to be an impeachable official, contrary to my previously written personal stand. But then he may have failed to reckon that the long arm of the law can still put him in the slammer, per force and effect of the Revised Penal Code and existing pieces of jurisprudence in criminal law. You still have time to bare all, Ben, before a takeover—should one take place—lines you up against the wall. Personally I’ll be happy to witness your conviction even if you’re able to go on probation should the penalty imposed not exceed six years imprisonment.

       Reader with cell phone number ending in 1444 asks, “Mr. Roy, as a narrow-minded columnist, don’t you feel stupid endorsing a drunk, a plunderer and womanizer to saddle up again in an anti-Gloria leadership role?” No, I do not, and if you don’t respect me for a pro-Erap sentiment based on my 45 years of friendship with the man, that’s okay with me, sir/madam. I’d like you to know at the same time that I do not find your text message offensive, and that if it is your considered view that a drunk, a thief and a womanizer will never change, do take heart that, even if I disagree with you, I will always uphold your freedom to speak up. But before “leaving it at that”, may I remind you that the Lord often cautions us not to judge one another, and that nobody is beyond redemption, notwithstanding one’s advanced years. Besides, neither one of us will decide our country’s fate in a post-Gloria scenario. This power pertains to the great majority of sovereign Filipinos, whether mighty or weak, rich or poor. In the end, after the smoke has cleared, you and I will be dancing in the streets, with or without Erap at the helm. So, cheers #1444, cheers!

       #2209, thanks for the chance to comment on the recent appointment of former Regional Trial Court Judge Moslemen Macarambon to a vacant seat of the COMELEC. Until a few days ago, I had never heard of him. It would be easy to give him the benefit of the doubt which has been raised by Sen. Panfilo Lacson and others, as his credentials appear solid, vouched for by no less than UNO Spokesman Adel Tamano. Around 35 years ago, when Adel’s father, the late Sen. Mamintal “Mike” Tamano was a close political ally of my late father, Mike sometimes moved around with an assistant whom, if memory serves, Mr. Macarambon resembles, based on current newspaper photos. Mike and I were personal friends. We both once gave backroom legal support for the late Sen. Ambrosio Padilla who argued before the COMELEC a defensive position of the Nacionalista Party (NP) headed by Sen. José J. Roy, against the Kilusang Bagong Lipunan (KBL) headed by the late strongman, Ferdinand E. Marcos. The NP won that case before the COMELEC headed by the late Chairman Patajo, whose first name I regretfully now forget. I feel that if Mike were still around, he would give Mr. Macarambon high passing marks. Unfortunately, Mr. Macarambon’s negative image, if any, stems from his being an appointee of the little despot. After all, he may now be the opposite of the good public servant that he was to Mike almost four decades ago.

      People change, don’t you think so? Take the case of Congressman Matias “Mat” Defensor, Chairman of the House Justice Committee. Mat was a level-headed member of my father’s private staff. He served like a devoted civil servant with a high sense of patriotism. But look at him now!! Watch him defend the tyrant’s fortress against the tsunami initiated by the opposition’s two impeachment bids. It was good old Mat who killed last year’s impeachment complaint against GMA, and there’s absolutely no reason to suppose he will abandon his duties to his benefactress, what with all the morsels and other perks that come his way as a round-the-clock lapdog. I’m sorry Mutt, I mean Mat, if I’ve hurt your feelings, I still consider you a friend and if there’s one favor I can do you, it’s to make you realize that the truth will surely stare you into shame before all the generations to come in the Defensor family. There must be a million reasons why that’s going to be difficult to do, huh?! I pray that the virtue of corruption does not reach your aging pituitary gland before it is too late.

       #3449, do you want me to comment on Manny Pacquiao as a boxing icon? Well, I have mixed feelings about the best pound-for-pound pugilist in the planet today. My good friend Peping Cojuangco told me at a recent wake that there were only two things that could unite the country: the spirit of EDSA and Manny Pacquiao. As he talked and talked for all of 50 minutes, I remained silent preferring not to create a scene, given the solemnity of the wake at which my cousin lay in state; and Peping was there as a mourning visitor. In reply, I have regarded Pacquiao as a conciliating force in our fragmented country. Sure, the streets are empty as we stay indoors lustily cheering our compatriot throughout the bloody fight, and criminality is zero. But that’s about it, because immediately after the contest, 1) the ruffians in some of us are back, like for instance a man being knifed dead by his son high on shabu, or another gunning down a friend for nonpayment of a gambling debt incurred in the very same fight, and 2) we see the likes of “Sabit” Singson and Lito Atienza jumping onto the canvass after Manny’s been declared winner. So there. How then can I hail Pacman as a unifying personality when, on the contrary, he is the most prominent Filipino athlete who continues to endorse a corrupt regime? In about 5 years’ time he will have passed his boxing prime and he will then be lucky not to be remembered as a political heel.

       All Souls Day was for me a day of recollection of loved ones who have gone ahead and of reflection on our own mortality. The homily of the November 2 mass that I heard was a fitting one, as it honored the dead and called to mind that, in the end times, Lucifer and his demons can assume human and animal forms. The officiating priest stressed he was not scaring the congregation in the spirit of Halloween. He said that if the good spirit that was Gabriel the Archangel assumed a man’s form to announce to the unwed Mary that the Holy Spirit had chosen her to be the mother of Jesus, so also can all the evil spirits led by Satan assume animal and human forms. After the mass, I purposely waited for him to come out of the Buklod ng Pagibig (Healing Center) Chapel with the mass goers, about half of whom secretly dislike me because they are civil society admirers of Gloria. Then I shot out within their hearing a question that stunned the congenial Reverend Eser Navarro: “Father, you said in your homily that the devil will not hesitate to assume the form of a serpent, as he did in the garden of Eden, or even that of one’s own parent, if he found it necessary to destroy a Christian home that has become vulnerable to the ways of the material world. What then is there to prevent me from seeing Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo as a demon, or Satan himself, masquerading in human form? If I were an unholy spirit, I would consider her human form as an excellent choice because that would then give me the opportunity to control and corrupt an entire nation. Look at her, Father! She is petite, innocuous-looking and pa sweet-sweet pa! You don’t expect her to appear with horns, a tail and a trident, do you Father? If I sin by talking this way, please hear my confession right now.” “N..n..no need, Mr. Roy, you ah…committed no sin!”, came the quivering reply.

       That, Pete (Galvez), was how I honored the dead on All Souls Day. As for your other request for a comment on what appears to be a childish scramble among presidential and vice-presidential wannabes for the 2010 elections, let me wish well all those who can draw inspiration from my personal creed: “Let honor be theirs who seek it not.”

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

